» Land combat Sims
Blog
About us
Link to us
» Donations

Make a voluntary contribution through Paypal

» Gallery
Toggle Random Thumbs
A10 Warthog Neel Kearby's P47-D, "Fiery Ginger" McDonnell F2H Banshee Bell-Boeing V-22 Osprey Fi-156 from France Bf 109 G-2 Bf 109 G-2 Stuka JU-87, 1939 AIM-9X Sidewinder and CATM-120C AMRAAM DSCF4266.JPG

» Ads Home

Gimp Tutorials

Adding Brushes in GIMP

Comment

LinkBack Tutorial Tools Display Modes
Adding Brushes in GIMP
Adding Brushes in GIMP
Published by adlabs6
6th September 2007
<< <    Next Page: page 2 (Page 1 of 2)    >  >>

Introduction

Adding Brushes in GIMP
by adlabs6
05/30/07

I've been using GIMP on and off for a few months now, and have got to know it pretty well for my purposes. Since GIMP is quite functional for skinning and profile painting, and is an easy choice for those who either prefer freeware, are linux users, or are wanting to test the waters without laying out the cash for PaintShop or Photoshop, I'm putting together a few tutorials that I hope will help out.

In this article we'll be looking at brush and color management, with the brush tools being a particularly difficult spot for some just starting out with GIMP. What we'll aim to do here is cover the ways to add and manage brush libraries, as well as talk some about brush edits.

Note that the screenshots in this article were taken on linux, and may look slightly different than a Windows machine.

Firstly, we'll add some new brushes. To start with, I've created a small library of round brushes with different sizes and hardnesses. These brushes are very similar to those I've frequently used in Photoshop. You can download this set of brushes from the Simmers Paint Shop download library here:

http://www.simmerspaintshop.com/foru...do=file&id=135